News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

TV/Movies Megathread

Started by Eddie Teach, March 06, 2011, 09:29:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sheilbh

Quote from: The Larch on November 16, 2021, 06:47:32 AMIt is also a problem for DC films, IMO, as only Batman has a properly developed rogues gallery full of iconic villains. Superman has Lex Luthor and then there are villains like Darkseid or Brainiac, but outside of comic book nerds nobody really knows who they are.
Yeah I know no Superman villains apart from Lex Luthor. But even then I have zero interest/knowledge because the Superman films have been less interesting for an outsider than the Batman films.

QuoteThe MCU has dramatically underexploited the main source of iconic villains in cinema history, scenary chewing classically trained British actors. :P They only hit it right with Tom Hiddlestone and Loki, which I don't think is a coincidence.
I hadn't thought of that but finally! Someone's got to the bottom of it :o :lol:

I blame the relatively recent emergence of "conventionally attractive Brits" who can actually play the hero whether that Spideerman or Dr Strange. Or they're at least attractive enough to play side-heroes like Idris Elba - or Chiwetel Ejiofor and Benedict Wong in the weirdly British Dr Strange films :hmm:

What MCU need to do is scour the stage and get Simon Russell Beale, Rufus Sewell or Mark Rylance in a leotard.
Let's bomb Russia!

The Larch

Quote from: celedhring on November 16, 2021, 06:58:46 AM
Aussies with posh accents are a decent impression of Brits, too. Cate Blanchett was a riot in Thor Ragnarok.

Thor Ragnarok is a riot (Jeff Goldblum basically playing himself!). I also loved Karl Urban's Skurge the Executioner ("Behold... my stuff"), he's a Kiwi but he might qualify for your caveat.  :lol:

Josquius

Just when I think I understand what makes an attractive man Tom Holland goes into the A list whilst Idris Elba is in the B list alongside.... Benedict Wong.
██████
██████
██████