Lift priority button combo - urban myth or truth?

Started by Martinus, April 03, 2010, 07:33:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DontSayBanana

Quote from: alfred russel on April 05, 2010, 02:30:30 PM
To see if it works? If I'm a cop needing to get to floor 20 quickly, I'd not only want to avoid skipping picking up new people, but also letting out people pressing intermediate floors. If there is an override, my guess is it would override everything.

Emergency services doesn't use "override codes."  They get a key for the control panel that switches it into an "emergency" mode.
Experience bij!

Zanza

Quote from: DisturbedPervert on April 05, 2010, 06:07:04 PM
Somehow I'm guessing if you tried this in an 50 story building it's not gonna work.
I tried it today in the 63 story building I live in at the moment and it didn't work.

Josquius

Living in a 63 story building? :o

Quote from: DontSayBanana on April 06, 2010, 01:51:43 AM
To see if it works? If I'm a cop needing to get to floor 20 quickly, I'd not only want to avoid skipping picking up new people, but also letting out people pressing intermediate floors. If there is an override, my guess is it would override everything.

Emergency services doesn't use "override codes."  They get a key for the control panel that switches it into an "emergency" mode.
That sounds pretty time consuming to use.
██████
██████
██████

Martinus

Quote from: alfred russel on April 05, 2010, 12:45:40 PM
Quote from: Martinus on April 03, 2010, 07:33:41 AM
So, about two weeks ago someone told me that apparently most lifts have a "priority" mode built in. According to him, if you press the button of the floor you want to go to simultaneously with the door-closing button, the lift won't stop at any intervening floors, even if someone called the lift to them earlier.