News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

The Off Topic Topic

Started by Korea, March 10, 2009, 06:24:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Richard Hakluyt

Quote from: Sheilbh on August 03, 2021, 06:38:09 AM
But since here I think Tories generally do want people to do fine - I think their imagination and their understanding of people is limited. I think they are basically like those journalists - and in the case Johnson, they literally are that journalist - who write about private school fees as a "middle class" issue as if anyone in the middle class could afford - at the low end - £9k a year per kid.

At this point I can't help recalling the rent arrears course I went on when I was a housing officer. The young chap from Arundel, nice fellow, it had to be explained to him that one of the reasons that people fell into rent arrears was running out of money  :D

Sheilbh

Quote from: Tamas on August 03, 2021, 06:41:52 AM
The thing is (still about "flats" like the above one), there is absolutely no reason why detached houses should be repurposed as mini blocks of flats except entirely artificial constraints on supply.
Change in demand?

Neighbourhoods change. When I lived in a flat like that it was in Streatham which is classic 1930s Metroland. When that house was built it was the sort of 1930s where middle class commuter belt. There were still families who lived there but - unlike when that house was built - lots of people could and wanted to live further out: Croydon or into Surrey or Sussex. The trains were faster, people had cars etc.