And we're back!

Main Menu

What do you wish you'd studied?

Started by Sheilbh, June 02, 2014, 08:17:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CountDeMoney

Quote from: Valmy on June 03, 2014, 02:08:43 PM
Quote from: Ideologue on June 03, 2014, 02:06:47 PM
Wages are higher, working conditions are better, your employer won't disappear or be bought by another company, and working for the government is PSLF eligible.

My private sector equivalents make far more than I do.  I work in a building from the 30s that was remodled in the 70s.  They work in brand new offices.

Who gives a shit;  tell you what: I'll trade you your less-than-private-sector-equivalents salary and 1930's office for my private-sector-equivalent new-building-smell severance letter.

Savonarola

Quote from: Zanza on June 03, 2014, 02:27:55 PM
The alternative for me was medicine. Instead I studied information systems and now work as IT project manager.
Not sure if medicine would have been better. Definitely worse work hours, but maybe more interesting? No international travel, but more meaning to my work? Less money now, but bigger chance to become self-employed later? Hmm.

My alternative was physics; I could have been an adjunct professor.  Thank goodness my high school guidance counselor talked me out of that.
In Italy, for thirty years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland, they had brotherly love, they had five hundred years of democracy and peace—and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock

Ideologue

I read a pretty good article today by an adjunct professor, but it was on Slate so everyone hates it, and it was about how to make rational changes to required liberal arts classes (do away with essays that no one puts any effort into writing or professionalism into grading), so they hated it even more.

You could have also gone into finance.
Kinemalogue