Why women don't study computer programming - AAR of my first class

Started by merithyn, January 14, 2013, 08:04:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Berkut

I will say this - this is NOT the reason women don't study CS.

You are mixing up cause and effect Meri. You were treated weirdly because so few women take CS courses.

Although I have a degree in CS, and I never saw anything even remotely similar to what you described happen in any course I ever took. Any professor who made grossly sexist remarks like that would have been fired immediately if it happened more than once (the first time they get sent to sensitivity training, second time they are gone), even if they did think they were trying to help. Most universities I am aware of are hyper-conscious of discrimination issues.
"If you think this has a happy ending, then you haven't been paying attention."

select * from users where clue > 0
0 rows returned

CountDeMoney

Meri just picked the wrong class at the wrong time to be the only MLIF within hunting range, s'all.

merithyn

Quote from: Berkut on January 17, 2013, 12:57:55 PM

You are mixing up cause and effect Meri. You were treated weirdly because so few women take CS courses.

Although I have a degree in CS, and I never saw anything even remotely similar to what you described happen in any course I ever took. Any professor who made grossly sexist remarks like that would have been fired immediately if it happened more than once (the first time they get sent to sensitivity training, second time they are gone), even if they did think they were trying to help. Most universities I am aware of are hyper-conscious of discrimination issues.

The title was a joke, Berk. I'm well-aware that there are a lot of reasons that women don't take CS classes (though the Wiki article did rank this kind of behavior as one of the top four reasons).

So are you recommending that I file a complaint?
Yesterday, upon the stair,
I met a man who wasn't there