News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Things to do in America

Started by Pishtaco, June 12, 2011, 01:02:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pishtaco

I've been visiting the US for the last six months, working in San Diego. It's been rather lovely. But my job here is finishing, and in a few days I will give up my nice house in La Jolla and start on my way back to a small apartment in a grey street in central Europe.

I've got an opportunity to see some more of America on the way, since our flights are booked out of Atlanta in the middle of July. So we have three and a half weeks to drive over there. Can languish give me any advice on places to go and things to see on the way across?

My wife wants to visit places where she used to live in Berkeley and in Decorah, Iowa, so we will definitely be going there. Our provisional route is: the coastal road to San Francisco; Salt Lake City; the Tetons and Yellowstone; Devil's Tower, Mt Rushmore, the badlands park (I'm not sure what's there); Decorah. After that we have to get to Atlanta, and I'm not sure what a good route is. I would quite like to see the air force museum in Dayton, Ohio, but it's a bit out of the way; I'm also tempted by the mammoth cave in Kentucky, for the connection with adventure games. Are there any suggestions for places with historical, or other, interest that we should go to?

I'm also keen to hear about food we should eat. I haven't tried any proper barbecue yet.

jamesww

Quote from: Pishtaco on June 12, 2011, 01:02:42 PM
I've been visiting the US for the last six months, working in San Diego. It's been rather lovely. But my job here is finishing, and in a few days I will give up my nice house in La Jolla and start on my way back to a small apartment in a grey street in central Europe.