News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

[Canada] Canadian Politics Redux

Started by Josephus, March 22, 2011, 09:27:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Barrister

Quote from: crazy canuck on September 26, 2023, 11:51:07 AMIn any event, I can't believe people are actually defending someone who fought in a Waffen SS unit. I get babies tribalism and his strong feelings for Ukraine presently. But for fucks sake's folks, you're defending and justifying people who fought in an SS unit.

OK, so for starters I am not defending having Parliament give the guy a standing ovation.  Politically that was just dumb.

But yes I will defend Yaroslav Hunka.  It's not as if he had the option of joining the western allies.  The only ones coming along offering to hand Ukrainians a gun and a chance to fight the Communists was the SS.  The Soviet Union had just murdered millions of Ukrainians in the last 20 years.

Reportedly (and I'm not an expert, I'm going off of Wikipedia to be clear) the Galicia Division when formed had a couple of stipulations: that it would only be used to fight the Soviets (not the Western Allies), and that its units would be allowed to have Greek Catholic or Orthodox Chaplains (highly unusual within the SS to have chaplains at all).

Look, being a Ukrainian in WWII was like living through the trolley problem, or the Kobayashi Maru test - there are no good answers here.  Not all Ukrainian nationalist groups supported the Galicia Division, although many did.  But absolutely joining that unit to fight the Russians and maybe help set up an independent Ukraine was morally defensible decision.
Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

Sheilbh

But also off Wiki (and what I've read people saying) they destroyed Polish villages, were also deployed to Yugoslavia where they were fighting Yugoslav partisans and helped putdown the Slovak rising, not just the USSR.