News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

TV/Movies Megathread

Started by Eddie Teach, March 06, 2011, 09:29:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tonitrus

Superman is the Jewish messiah.  General Zod is the hidden Imam.

celedhring

Quote from: Valmy on July 17, 2017, 01:42:49 PM
Quote from: celedhring on July 17, 2017, 01:26:52 PM
As I said a few pages ago, Viper has a point and it's perfectly natural that superhero movies are riddled with religious motifs.

And as I responded a few pages ago that is moving the goal posts. The motifs are cultural ones not literal Christianity like Viper was claiming. Which was my entire point.

I really don't understand how's that moving the goalposts. How does that make those motifs not Christian if we live in a Christian culture and they're drawn from Christian myths?

The Bible was in my mandatory reading list when I studied filmmaking. And I was in a secular school.

Duque de Bragança

Quote from: viper37 on July 17, 2017, 12:05:23 PM

I'm not really concerned by Bastille Day. :)

Fête de la Fédération type?  :P

viper37

Quote from: Valmy on July 17, 2017, 12:26:00 PM
Quote from: viper37 on July 17, 2017, 12:08:56 PM
Quote from: 11B4V on July 16, 2017, 12:04:42 AM
Why spend so much time talking about atheism? That's the good thing about it. You don't have to spend any time on it.
Except on this thread, once challenged by a very angry CdM, a very angry Raz, an annoyed Valmy on the defensive and a cohort of others, I do not remember having talked a lot about of Atheism, except when asked specifically about it, nor do I remember mocking someone's religion, or insinuating anything about religious people.  All I said was that religion was very present in your iconic cultural product: blockbuster movies.

Hey I love Atheists.
you have strange ways of showing it.  You killed that poor atheist bastard for rebelling against the Church in Dragon Age II :(

:P
I don't do meditation.  I drink alcohol to relax, like normal people.