News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

American Innumeracy

Started by jimmy olsen, December 30, 2009, 08:54:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Razgovory

Think about this Meri.  Do you want your children to grow up and be like Berkut and Dguller?
I've given it serious thought. I must scorn the ways of my family, and seek a Japanese woman to yield me my progeny. He shall live in the lands of the east, and be well tutored in his sacred trust to weave the best traditions of Japan and the Sacred South together, until such time as he (or, indeed his house, which will periodically require infusion of both Southern and Japanese bloodlines of note) can deliver to the South it's independence, either in this world or in space.  -Lettow April of 2011

Raz is right. -MadImmortalMan March of 2017

Berkut

I do ok - I would say I "get it", but I am not a prodigy or anything.

I don't disbelieve that you struggle with math, I just think the attitude of "Oh, math is hard for me, so they should change the curriculum so I can succeed too!", which appears to be your position, is in fact why we see declining math scores in many cases - the desire to see everyone succeed, at a cost to those who were already having success.

And, to be completely blunt, I  suspect that in the majority of cases, people who don't "get it" but are otherwise pretty bright are most likely to just not "get" the work involved. Studies have shown that IQ is pretty general - people who do well in one subject tend to do well in all subjects. I think most people who don't "get it" mostly just don't like it, which isn't the same thing at all.