News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

What does a BIDEN Presidency look like?

Started by Caliga, November 07, 2020, 12:07:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grey Fox

I wouldn't call us Latin American but I do use the expression "our Latin blood" to justify different Italian/Spanish influence behaviour.
Colonel Caliga is Awesome.

Josquius

I have very little real world experience with Quebecois, who knows, maybe they're totally different, but I definitely feel a similarity between European French speakers and the Spanish and Italians.

Butt.....I've even heard Brazilians insist they're not Latin American so...ja.

Quote from: Syt on August 27, 2021, 02:59:59 PM
Like so:

I remember being taught to do that in the last years of primary school then in the first years of senior school they tell you to stop it. :hmm:
██████
██████
██████

The Larch

Never in my whole life I've seen Quebec grouped in any way with other American countries. The three groupings I'm aware of are:

- Latin America: Spanish speaking countries + Brazil + former French colonies like Haiti. It includes some places that are not sovereign states, such as Puerto Rico or French Guiana, but I've never seen Quebec included on it.

Sometimes when it is used more in a geographic sense than cultural it might also include places like Belize or the Dutch Caribbean islands or all the Guianas.

- Hispanic America: Spanish speaking countries by themselves (including Puerto Rico).

- Ibero America: Spanish speaking countries (including Puerto Rico) + Brazil.

AFAIK this is the only group that has a specific international org associated with it, as there's an Ibero American summit of all these countries + Spain and Portugal that takes place every year or couple of years.

Quote from: Tyr on September 07, 2021, 03:11:38 AMI definitely feel a similarity between European French speakers and the Spanish and Italians.

I shudder to think about your rationale.

Sheilbh