News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Crusader Kings III

Started by Syt, October 19, 2019, 04:02:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Syt

My game in 1046.

I am Brittany, bitch. Actually, it was a bitch to get onto that throne, because I am not good at this game. :D

I gobbled up a bunch of duchies till I ran into the "too many duchies" limit. I was allied to the King of West Francia (who was also Aquitaine), and I didn't have the roops/allies to take him on, anyways, so my ruler (maxed learning, so you can buy claims with faith, if the Pope doesn't grant you claims), I claimed Brittany, the weakest nearby Kingdom. I had the levies and allies (and mercs!) to take them on, but they also had lands in England, so armies kept shuttling across the channel for years, there was attrition, and it was a silly game of wack-a-mole of sieges. Couldn't even force a decisive battle. Eventually we white peaced out.

Next I claimed Burgundy. His troop numbers were low, he had shitty allies, and even on recovery we outnumbered him. So off we go. It was messy here, too, because he was defending against a faction that had risen up that moved some monster stacks through his realm that were hostile to me too. So there was a lot of maneuvering and running around for a couple of years. And then he went and allied Byzantium who joined the war, tripling his troops. Ok, white peace again.

Meanwhile, Brittany had gone through a bad succession. They lost their lands in England, and a bunch of allies. My ruler died, but his son, while not great (and already 63 himself ... ) went to war, again. This time it was quickly over, and we claimed the throne of Brittany. I then spent the next few years sorting out my finances, vassal contracts, who should have which duchies, while securing some new alliances. My ruler died quickly, and his son took over (current ruler). He's intelligent, but he's also a bleeder. :D