News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Republican Fun - "You don't pay me!"

Started by garbon, April 13, 2017, 08:19:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

garbon

http://thehill.com/blogs/blog-briefing-room/news/328615-gop-rep-bullcrap-to-say-taxpayers-pay-my-salary-i-pay-for

QuoteGOP rep: 'Bullcrap' to say taxpayers pay my salary

Rep. Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.) faced off with constituents at a town hall this week, telling the audience that they don't pay his salary.

"You say you pay for me to do this? That's bullcrap," Mullin said at the town hall in Jay, Okla., according to a video of the incident.

"I pay for myself. I paid enough taxes before I got here and continue to through my company to pay my own salary. This is a service. No one here pays me to go," he added.
After constituents pushed back, Mullin reiterated that being a lawmaker is not "how I make my living."

"I'm just saying ... this is a service for me, not a career, and I thank God this is not how I make my living," he said.

Mullin's spokeswoman Amy Lawrence told the Tulsa World that the lawmaker does not want to become a career politician.

"The congressman reiterates in the video that his work as the representative of the Second District of Oklahoma is a service," Lawrence said.

"His aspiration is to be a career legislator and not a career politician. He is not, nor does he ever aspire to be, a career politician. His priority will always be to serve his constituents to the best of his ability."

Mullin is the owner of multiple companies under the umbrella of Mullin Plumbing.

:lol:
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."

I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

Valmy

QuoteHis priority will always be to serve his constituents to the best of his ability