What is your Alma Mater's Motto?

Started by Savonarola, October 05, 2016, 04:40:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josquius

██████
██████
██████

The Larch

The one I got my degree form doesn't have a motto (strange, since it's actually quite old, founded in the late XVth century). The one I started my studies at does have one, "Innovadora, pública e de calidade", which sounds more like a corporate motto than an educational one.

grumbler

Some of these replies beg an interesting (to me) question:  do all of the colleges and universities you have graduated from count as alma maters in modern parlance?

I had always been told that one has a single alma mater (one's undergraduate university or college) and that graduate schools were not alma maters.  The fact that many people here are responding with multiple mottoes implies that either my understanding has been incorrect all this time, or that the meaning of alma mater has shifted to include graduate schools.

Thoughts?
The future is all around us, waiting, in moments of transition, to be born in moments of revelation. No one knows the shape of that future or where it will take us. We know only that it is always born in pain.   -G'Kar

Bayraktar!

Gups

Ora et labora from my school. I had to look it up, even though I'd seen it so many hundreds of times. A surprisingly monkish motto given that the school was founded in 1576.

Oexmelin

Yes, the alma mater was supposed to be the undergraduate institution, which was understood to have nourished you the most. I am guessing the increasing number of postgraduate degrees may have shifted the understanding to all schools one has graduated from. As for this thread, I am guessing people simply wanted to expand the pool of answers in order to compare a variety of mottos. 
Que le grand cric me croque !

Agelastus

"Sancte et Sapienter"

Translation being "With Holiness and Wisdom".

"Come grow old with me
The Best is yet to be
The last of life for which the first was made."