And we're back!

Main Menu

20 Years Ago

Started by mongers, October 21, 2014, 05:16:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crazy canuck

Quote from: Josephus on October 21, 2014, 07:02:12 PM
Internetz killed newspaperz :(

I saw an article that claimed hand held devices will save newspapers because things like blogs are too difficult to read whereas newspapers are already formatted properly easly use.

Brazen

Quote from: Josephus on October 21, 2014, 05:49:19 PM
In the late 90s we called them "Car phones"...cause most people used them in their cars...which is kind of ironic to think about it.
Even more ironically, one of the UK's most successful cross-brand mobile phone retail businesses is still called Carphone Warehouse.

Brazen

Much like Doctor Who, I have a fixed point in time around which to judge my tech. I graduated with an IT degree in 1989, the year Tim Berners-Lee invented the World Wide Web, thus rendering everything I'd learned obsolete. We did have access to the Internet at University, mainly via JANET, the joint academic network, but it was awfully clumsy to communicate. We used to have to send the results of programming assignments to the the computer block across the river to be printed and collect them a day or two later. We started off with DOS computers (IBM AT and XT) and keyboards, but Windows and mice were widespread by the time we left.

Computer games were pretty much a free for all - you could copy the disks for friends and install them to as many computers as you wanted. The original Leisure Suit Larry was doing the rounds at Uni. We also went from 5.25 inch floppies to 3.5 inch. Progess!