News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

The 100 Year Starship Project

Started by grumbler, June 14, 2013, 06:16:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

grumbler

I am interested in the NASA/DARPA 100 Year Starship Project http://100yss.org/mission/purpose mostly as a teacher who wants to promote interdisciplinary projects, but thought it might be of interest here.

As a teacher, I look at this as a motivational tool:  for the parents and grandparents of current students, the goal was the race to the moon  http://www.jfklibrary.org/Asset-Viewer/MkATdOcdU06X5uNHbmqm1Q.aspx The upcoming generation has nothing like that to inspire them. 

Anyone have any meaningful thoughts on the project?
The future is all around us, waiting, in moments of transition, to be born in moments of revelation. No one knows the shape of that future or where it will take us. We know only that it is always born in pain.   -G'Kar

Bayraktar!

fhdz

I'd not heard about it prior to your mention of it here; it seems very interesting, so I'll do some reading on the site and see if I have some comments after that :)
and the horse you rode in on

jimmy olsen

Well, I don't know if my thoughts are meaningful, but I think a 100 year project is just too far out to excite most students. I think that something like Planetary Resources plans to mine near earth asteroids in the next decade might be a better choice to focus on.
It is far better for the truth to tear my flesh to pieces, then for my soul to wander through darkness in eternal damnation.

Jet: So what kind of woman is she? What's Julia like?
Faye: Ordinary. The kind of beautiful, dangerous ordinary that you just can't leave alone.
Jet: I see.
Faye: Like an angel from the underworld. Or a devil from Paradise.
--------------------------------------------
1 Karma Chameleon point

CountDeMoney

Quote from: jimmy olsen on June 15, 2013, 09:09:47 PM