News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

AP Twitter Hack

Started by jimmy olsen, April 23, 2013, 11:57:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DGuller

Quote from: Admiral Yi on April 24, 2013, 10:55:07 PM
I'm no expert on the subject, but I don't think we're talking about the old program trading that caused a 20% one day drop in the market back in the 80s.

Just take a look at this: people thought there was a bombing of the White House, the market dropped 1% and instantly recovered.  Hardly a good data point for fragilizing the market.
One of the problems with algorithm trading is that it causes liquidity to drop to near zero any time something uncertain happens;  that is, when you really don't want liquidity to drop off.  Algorithms simply trip into shutdown mode to avoid trading during an uncertain time.  When you have no bid or ask offers worth talking about, prices can get to pretty much any level.  That in turn can lead to all sorts of margin calls based on phantom losses and the usual chain reactions associated with them.

Then there are just unpredictable dynamic things that can happen when a couple of algorithms interact with each other and create a vortex of insanity.  When Amazon algorithm prices a used book about flies at $20,000,000, because it's programmed to beat another algorithm that priced the book at $18,000,000, it's amusing.  When such thing happens in the stock market, it can hurt real people who actually do something productive rather than figure out how to grab more of the bid/ask spread for themselves.

DGuller

Quote from: fahdiz on April 24, 2013, 11:08:55 PM
How about the 2010 "Flash Crash"? That was over a 1000-point drop IIRC.
:yes:

DGuller

Here's a fun reading about algorithm trading:  http://www.michaeleisen.org/blog/?p=358.

Warspite