News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Legal question for you non-lawyers

Started by Barrister, March 28, 2012, 11:18:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

grumbler

Quote from: Barrister on March 28, 2012, 02:23:09 PM
Actually I think the juice box is better.  Conceivably someone else could have brought a previously empty coke can to the house, but the accused's DNA on an item that was already in the house is golden.

As a member of the jury, I would find that there was a reasonable doubt that the juice box was "contaminated" by the DNA in some other fashion  - like that they gave the accused a juice drink and just didn't remember it.  The coke can is not theirs, however.   They couldn't have given a coke to someone who had, say, cleaned their gutters or mowed their lawn, since they didn't have one.

I'm not a lawyer, though.
The future is all around us, waiting, in moments of transition, to be born in moments of revelation. No one knows the shape of that future or where it will take us. We know only that it is always born in pain.   -G'Kar

Bayraktar!

Scipio

Go for it.  Don't you get paid if you win or lose?  I do.

I fucking nailed a guy today, though.  It was only a misdemeanor, but this asshole had sent three letters to the victim's employer (Hattiesburg PD Chief) regarding a civil dispute between himself and the victim, asking the chief to tell his subordinate to stop snitching to the bank that had foreclosed on his properties that he had stolen all the fixtures, appliances, and HVAC systems out of the foreclosed houses.

We convicted the shit out of him.  Which was nice, because I have a $267,000+ judgment against his bankrupt company.  So I felt like a boss for about five minutes.
What I speak out of my mouth is the truth.  It burns like fire.
-Jose Canseco

There you go, giving a fuck when it ain't your turn to give a fuck.
-Every cop, The Wire

"It is always good to be known for one's Krapp."
-John Hurt

Ideologue