And we're back!

Main Menu

History Trivia Thread Reducks

Started by Admiral Yi, July 22, 2009, 03:15:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Maladict

Quote from: Agelastus on October 10, 2009, 01:12:31 PM
I admit to being very impressed.

I studied Lucullus' villas a couple of years ago, one of the articles actually had it as its title.  :)

Razgovory

I've given it serious thought. I must scorn the ways of my family, and seek a Japanese woman to yield me my progeny. He shall live in the lands of the east, and be well tutored in his sacred trust to weave the best traditions of Japan and the Sacred South together, until such time as he (or, indeed his house, which will periodically require infusion of both Southern and Japanese bloodlines of note) can deliver to the South it's independence, either in this world or in space.  -Lettow April of 2011

Raz is right. -MadImmortalMan March of 2017

Agelastus

Quote from: Maladict on October 10, 2009, 12:35:02 PM
What did the Venetians do that highly impressed Henry III of France when attending a state banquet in the city?

Avoided spitting on the floor?

Or ate with their courtesans, rather than their wives?
"Come grow old with me
The Best is yet to be
The last of life for which the first was made."

Alexandru H.

Quote from: Maladict on October 10, 2009, 12:35:02 PM
What did the Venetians do that highly impressed Henry III of France when attending a state banquet in the city?

Showed him one of the first examples of opera or ballet in history? Actually the first opera was, I think, created in the 1590s, so it's a bit late... but ballet could be a possibility.

Maladict

No, all cold.
They were showing off their naval power.

PDH

Quote from: Maladict on October 10, 2009, 08:39:35 AM
Xerxes togatus?

Knew this one too - but then, I always liked Lucullus.  "Tonight, PDH dines with PDH"