Main Menu

Motorhoming in central Sweden

Started by Threviel, July 08, 2021, 08:41:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Brain

Quote from: Threviel on July 10, 2021, 02:48:59 PM
Quote from: Admiral Yi on July 10, 2021, 02:07:36 PM
Quote from: Threviel on July 10, 2021, 08:51:38 AM
Back then a movement was about to try to define what Swedishness means and what it is.

"You fornicate diligently then commit suicide after paying too many taxes."

Are you saying that we are good lovers?

No, but industrious and hardy.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

Admiral Yi

Quote from: Threviel on July 10, 2021, 02:48:59 PM
Are you saying that we are good lovers?

I have no personal experience and can not advance any opinion.

I stole the line from some Swedish comedian or writer.  The reason I found it funny (and why I've remembered it for 3 and a half decades) is it makes fucking sound like an obligation, a chore, a responsibility.

Threviel

In 1937 there was a world fair in Paris. The fair is today mostly known for the the conflict between communism and nazism. In order to display how the one was superior to the other they both sent representation that built very similar modernistic concrete towers across the street from one other.

Sweden wanted to sen something typically Swedish, so they sent a painted wooden horse. In Dalarna they have been whittling horses for hundreds of years and in the early 19th century they started to combine the horses with "kurbits" painting. This was a colourful way of decorating houses and furniture used a lot in central Sweden, in Dalarna most famously used for large clocks bering built. The painted horses got more and more popular and in 1937 they were choses as a quaint nice little thing of Sweden to display. They took of and nowadays they are the premier symbol of Sweden adorning every kind of souvenir in every Swedish souvenir shop.