News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Life on the Rails

Started by Savonarola, June 17, 2015, 12:52:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Savonarola

Quote from: viper37 on October 07, 2024, 04:25:23 PM
Quote from: Savonarola on October 07, 2024, 03:48:53 PM(I do hope they change my title.  In Ontario (maybe all of Canada) you can only call yourself an engineer if you are a licensed professional engineer.  Even though I am a professional engineer, in order to avoid a two-tier job titles everyone on my team is a Network and Telecommunications Designer.)
It's the same in Quebec.  You need to be a member of the "Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec" to be referred to as an engineer.  Unsure about other provinces if it's as regulated as that.

I don't think you actually have to be a member of the Order of the Engineer in Ontario; although most professional engineers I've met from there are.  (Canada, for those of you playing along at home, has a much stronger tradition of professional engineering than the United States, complete with a Ritual of the Calling of an Engineer.
In Italy, for thirty years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland, they had brotherly love, they had five hundred years of democracy and peace—and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock

Barrister

Quote from: Savonarola on October 08, 2024, 04:50:56 PM
Quote from: viper37 on October 07, 2024, 04:25:23 PM
Quote from: Savonarola on October 07, 2024, 03:48:53 PM(I do hope they change my title.  In Ontario (maybe all of Canada) you can only call yourself an engineer if you are a licensed professional engineer.  Even though I am a professional engineer, in order to avoid a two-tier job titles everyone on my team is a Network and Telecommunications Designer.)