3 (60%)
Jaron
0 (0%)
I like this option
2 (40%)

Total Members Voted: 5

DGuller

Quote from: Barrister on April 27, 2010, 01:36:55 PM
It's not a "free pass".  If one cop waves a badge and says "I'm a cop, you can't ticket me", he'll get both a ticket and serious discipline from his superior.
Maybe in la-la land.  Here in NJ, even obnoxious cops nearly automatically get a break.  It's not just a misplaced sense of camaraderie, the traffic officer himself can get ostracized or harassed if he writes another cop.
QuoteAnd what you don't understand is that for a police officer, getting a ticket is a lot more serious than it would be for you.  They'll have to report it up the chain.  An outside judge will have to be brought in.  You could proably negotiate down a ticket - a cop wouldn't have that ability.
You are mistaken, I am very well aware of that.  It seems like all the more reason for a cop to pretend like the laws apply to him just the same, or at least not be blatant when breaking the traffic laws.  Given the higher penalties, having a slightly higher threshold may be justifiable, but not the blanket immunity from traffic violations that most cops are proud to provide.

Barrister

And just where do you get your information from? :yeahright:
Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

DGuller

Quote from: Barrister on April 27, 2010, 01:53:47 PM
Cops themselves.  During on my Goggle searches, I came across a forum frequent by NJ cops.  One of the topics I saw was a very lengthy discussion of "professional courtesy".  About 80% of the participants see nothing wrong with it and are proud to claim that they NEVER write another cop, another 10% are more ambivalent but still don't, and the rest (almost always state troopers) are critical of that practice but are still highly reluctant to do it.