And we're back!

Main Menu

Grand unified books thread

Started by Syt, March 16, 2009, 01:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josquius

Quote from: Savonarola on March 13, 2022, 04:55:39 PM
Quote from: Sheilbh on March 13, 2022, 04:11:21 PM
Quote from: Eddie Teach on March 13, 2022, 04:05:18 PMWhat kind of crazy accent rhymes doom with home?
There is a shift in the 18th century. The classic which comes up all the time is love and proof rhyme until the mid-late 18th century.

I have no idea which way it went. I don't know if we used to pronounce proof "pruv" or if we used to pronounce love "loov" (I hope it's the latter). But I guess this is the same here - I feel like this strengthens my hope and we also used to pronounce home as "hoom".

I think it's the other way (although I'm no expert in 17th century English); as "Doom" is sometimes written as Dome or Dom in middle English.  Also in the case that I quoted "Doom" means judgement; its original meaning in old English, rather than inevitable ruin.

I remember my first weeks at uni I met a monstrously posh guy. He asked where I was from and could only hear Durham as Dome for some reason.

So.... Us? To poshos at least. Or is it the posh? :unsure:
██████
██████
██████

Syt

Quote from: Savonarola on March 13, 2022, 04:55:39 PM
Quote from: Sheilbh on March 13, 2022, 04:11:21 PM
Quote from: Eddie Teach on March 13, 2022, 04:05:18 PMWhat kind of crazy accent rhymes doom with home?
There is a shift in the 18th century. The classic which comes up all the time is love and proof rhyme until the mid-late 18th century.

I have no idea which way it went. I don't know if we used to pronounce proof "pruv" or if we used to pronounce love "loov" (I hope it's the latter). But I guess this is the same here - I feel like this strengthens my hope and we also used to pronounce home as "hoom".