News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Grand unified books thread

Started by Syt, March 16, 2009, 01:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mongers

Arnhem:The Battle for the Bridges, 1944' by Anthony Beevor, very good for it's narrative history elements.

Can't comment on his conclusions about the strategy and the operational matters, as I've no real knowledge of military matters.

I will say, once again Montgomery is shameful, but perhaps not as duplicitous as Browning and Horrocks is shown in a bad light.

Eisenhower seems a remote, almost disinterested figure, most of the rest of the US generals get a pass, with Gavin's leadership of the 82nd being first class.

edit:
For someone like me, the film 'A Bridge To Far' is a bit of a distraction, hard to read about Urquhart involvement without seeing the heroic Sean Connery or for that matter Anthony Hopkins leading the defence of the northern bridge end enclave.
"We have it in our power to begin the world over again"

The Brain

Quote from: The Brain on January 12, 2021, 11:14:39 AM
Today I received Uniforms and Flags of the Imperial Austrian Army 1683-1720, by Hall and Boeri, and Austria's Wars of Emergence 1683-1797, by Hochedlinger. Nice. I've read Duffy's excellent books on the Austrian army of the Seven Years War, but I've been looking for solid info on the earlier period.

Finished both. The first does what it says on the tin, I have no reason to doubt the colors. The second is a nice description of Austrian administration, diplomacy, military, and wars of the period. I'm not an expert on Austria so cannot say how correct it is, but it seemed plausible.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

Eddie Teach

Quote from: The Brain on January 28, 2021, 08:59:07 AM
Today I received Uniforms and Flags of the Imperial Austrian Army 1683-1720,

You people are weird.
To sleep, perchance to dream. But in that sleep of death, what dreams may come?

mongers