News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Grand unified books thread

Started by Syt, March 16, 2009, 01:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sheilbh

The Bounless Sea by David Abulafia won :)
Let's bomb Russia!

The Brain

Richard III: Loyalty Binds Me, by Lewis. A modern take on Richard, with the advantage of the discovery of his remains. Author is a self-confessed Ricardian. Isn't obviously unreasonable (but of course I'm not an expert on the sources etc), even if I don't agree with every argument. I think it would have been helpful to discuss a bit more the possible scenarios for what happened to the princes in the Tower, just to clarify what the options are and how likely or unlikely the author thinks they are and why.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

The Brain

Quote from: Malthus on June 17, 2020, 09:07:05 AM
The whole notion of Ricardians strikes me as weird. Why are people worried about the morality of a Renaissance monarch? I mean, if he killed the princes in the Tower, would that make any actual difference to how one thinks about him? Murdering off rivals to the throne was hardly uncommon at the time, certainly the Tudors did it often enough.

Murdering your own underage nephews is a bit extreme even for the times. Even if many rivals were killed during the Wars of the Roses, it was often in battle or openly by kangaroo court post-battle. Edward may have killed a brother but Clarence was executed according to law. As I understand it even the killing of Henry VI may have been legal if Edward/Richard bothered with the necessary formalities, which we don't know if they did, and even if it was murder Henry VI was a grown man and not a child. And of course what the Tudors did was (mostly) after the WotR.

Malthus

Quote from: The Brain on June 17, 2020, 09:21:56 AM