News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

New Vatican leader raises celibacy question

Started by garbon, September 13, 2013, 08:28:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valmy

Quote from: Malthus on September 13, 2013, 09:51:05 AM
I think you have to be married before you get ordained, and if you are married, you can't become a bishop, cardinal or pope. But I'm no expert.

Point is, though, that it is in fact currently possible to be a married Catholic priest, so tyere can't be a binding religious rule prohibiting it.

No it is something very specific involving the Eastern rites that occured as some sort of compromise during the Council of Florence (or perhaps shortly afterwards).  You cannot just get married and then get ordained or tons of Priests would do that.
Quote"This is a Russian warship. I propose you lay down arms and surrender to avoid bloodshed & unnecessary victims. Otherwise, you'll be bombed."

Zmiinyi defenders: "Russian warship, go fuck yourself."

Malthus

Quote from: Valmy on September 13, 2013, 10:01:18 AM
Quote from: Malthus on September 13, 2013, 09:51:05 AM
I think you have to be married before you get ordained, and if you are married, you can't become a bishop, cardinal or pope. But I'm no expert.

Point is, though, that it is in fact currently possible to be a married Catholic priest, so tyere can't be a binding religious rule prohibiting it.

No it is something very specific involving the Eastern rites that occured as some sort of compromise during the Council of Florence (or perhaps shortly afterwards).  You cannot just get married and then get ordained or tons of Priests would do that.

I know it is specific to the Ukranian rite and not to Catholics generally. I assume it was intended as some sort of compromise. I'm saying that, wthin this rite, my understanding is that if you want to be a married priest, the way to go about it is to marry first and then become a priest.