And we're back!

Main Menu

Politics From Across the Globe

Started by Jacob, September 20, 2021, 12:31:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Berkut

Quote from: celedhring on September 21, 2021, 10:47:50 AM
Quote from: Berkut on September 21, 2021, 10:14:13 AM
The issue with Hollywood and China is not that Hollywood wants to appeal to Chinese consumers. It is that in order to have the chance to compete for Chinese consumers, Hollywood must get their movies onto the yearly "approved" list. The CCCP approves 80ish foreign films a year.

hey don't SAY you have to censor your content to never mention Taiwan, or make sure your potrayal of China is always positive, but everyone knows you have no chane of being one of those 80 spots otherwise.

I have some first hand knowledge on this. In our case, they were very troubled with our series showing the state as being fallible (and it wasn't China). We had to change that and make a new (very tacky) ending.

It reminded me of Franco censorship, which also changed many movies so the cops always got their man, the authorities made no mistakes, etc...

You can't even blame the producers of the content. They are a business, and they are not going to realistically be able to resist that kind of political control.

This is a prime example where the state has to exert its own power against the power of the other state. And there needs to be coordination. Make it illegal to market and sell any media in a country where the state exerts that kind of political control over content. Get everyone on the same page, and China will have to back down - their own domestic political reality will demand it. They are absolutely counting on the successful imposition of a divided prisoners dilemma to control this kind of thing. But oddly enough, in this case the prisoners can all talk to each other!
"If you think this has a happy ending, then you haven't been paying attention."

select * from users where clue > 0
0 rows returned

celedhring