News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Hey Jacob have you seen this?

Started by Valmy, June 20, 2013, 03:59:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valmy

Quote from: CountDeMoney on June 21, 2013, 06:32:35 AM
When your best argument in developing minority characters in video games is to hire minorities because you can't violate the NDA by reaching out to real-life minorities, what else would you call it?

Um...hiring people who can do the job better?

Besides affirmative action is a legal requirement.
Quote"This is a Russian warship. I propose you lay down arms and surrender to avoid bloodshed & unnecessary victims. Otherwise, you'll be bombed."

Zmiinyi defenders: "Russian warship, go fuck yourself."

viper37

Quote from: Syt on June 21, 2013, 12:35:33 AM
I've been playing digital games for well over 20 years now, and I can say that I'm thoroughly bored by an endless parade of scantily clad, improbably proportioned female characters that are shallow as a puddle in the street and just work with gender stereotypes/sex hormones.
I never saw that in Europa Universalis or Empire: Total War!  I always miss out the good stuff dammit!

Also, I'm tired of "shooting people in the face" being the core mechanic for oh so many games these days. It's good fun if done right, but for AAA titles it seems about the only option (see: Bioshock: Infinite, Tomb Raider reboot, Dead Space 3, Aliens: Colonial Marines, Star Trek game ...).
add Mass Effect 3 MP to the list.  You get bonus damage for shooting at the head.
I don't do meditation.  I drink alcohol to relax, like normal people.

If Microsoft Excel decided to stop working overnight, the world would practically end.

Valmy

Quote from: viper37 on June 21, 2013, 09:37:20 AM
I never saw that in Europa Universalis or Empire: Total War!  I always miss out the good stuff dammit!

Yeah I am also pretty isolated from these trends...they pretty much only came up when I was playing Bioware games ironically.  Heh.