News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Gamersgate

Started by vinraith, March 13, 2009, 02:09:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vinraith

I've never used Gamersgate before, I'm curious how it handles content control. On the two sides of the digital download divide you have Steam, which wants to phone home every time you start a game (but does, in fairness, include an all-too-flakey offline mode) and Impulse, which only requires a one time digital activation and an internet connection to download updates (which you'd have to do anyway). Where does Gamersgate fall on that line? That is, how does it work?

garbon

Case example:

I purchased CK-DV on my work computer, on which I don't have CK installed.  Unfortunately gamersgate wanted me to install ck-dv while the internet was connected.  I installed ck-dv to a fake folder.  I was then able to take that folder (via a removable harddrive) and copied that on top of my CK installation...and it worked. :)

So really, no problems with Gamersgate. Patches I could add-on manually.  So I guess it is like Impulse?
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."

I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

vinraith

Yeah, sounds reasonably close to Impulse, maybe even a little easier. Thanks garbon, that's what I needed to know. :)

garbon

Oh also, gamersgate is no longer a downloadable application. I believe it is now all web based.  I've not used it since the change.
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."

I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

vinraith

Quote from: garbon on March 13, 2009, 04:45:49 PM
Oh also, gamersgate is no longer a downloadable application. I believe it is now all web based.  I've not used it since the change.