News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

More fucking around with education

Started by CountDeMoney, December 02, 2012, 10:34:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Syt

Quote from: garbon on December 03, 2012, 08:30:14 AM
Btw, purely an anecdote, but while I liked reading as a child (strongly encouraged by my parents), I absolutely detested most things when presented with them during high school and earlier. Similar with history - they had a way of taking the joy of out of it. -_-

I was a A to B student in German class, but during my last 5 years at school I didn't finish even one of the books, plays or novellas we were reading. I managed to bullshit myself through tests well enough. I've since read most of the books I shunned at the time.

I agree that it makes a huge difference whether you have to read something or want to read something.
I am, somehow, less interested in the weight and convolutions of Einstein's brain than in the near certainty that people of equal talent have lived and died in cotton fields and sweatshops.
—Stephen Jay Gould

Proud owner of 42 Zoupa Points.

garbon

Quote from: Martinus on December 03, 2012, 08:54:33 AM
:lol:

"Small handful"? Seriously?

Seriously. While it might be grand to envision how public education can transform the lives of its pupils - for how many does it actually do so? Isn't the news constantly abound with stories of how social mobility has hit dispiriting lows in the western world?  If public schooling is supposed to be a great equalizer, it's doing an abysmal job.
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."
I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

Ed Anger

Stay Alive...Let the Man Drive

Brazen

I did English Language O level a year early then had the option to do English Lit or Film Studies AO level. Guess which I chose?  :P