And we're back!

Main Menu

Latin, school and you.

Started by Brazen, October 09, 2012, 05:31:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Did you learn Latin at school?

Yes, I was taught at school.
18 (40.9%)
No, but I taught myself, or took a later qualification.
1 (2.3%)
No, but I've picked a little up from wider reading.
8 (18.2%)
No, but I picked up some terms from other subjects I studied e.g. law, biology.
9 (20.5%)
Veni, vidi, vici THIS mofo.
8 (18.2%)

Total Members Voted: 44

PDH

Latin is a language, dead as dead can be.
First it killed the Romans, now it's killing me.
I have come to believe that the whole world is an enigma, a harmless enigma that is made terrible by our own mad attempt to interpret it as though it had an underlying truth.
-Umberto Eco

-------
"I'm pretty sure my level of depression has nothing to do with how much of a fucking asshole you are."

-CdM

Barrister

I had enough trouble with French - why would I try and learn latin?
Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

The Larch

I had it for one year when I was 15. I finished the course and never looked back.

garbon

Quote from: Barrister on October 09, 2012, 09:14:08 AM
I had enough trouble with French - why would I try and learn latin?

For me the only use was helping with word stems in English.
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."
I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

Alexandru H.

4 years in Highschool. I was able to fluently read Sallustius by the end of it... :ph34r:

Maladict

6 years, 4-5 hours a week. Combined with Dutch, English, German, French and Ancient Greek, it was heavy going. Well worth it, though.

Valmy

Quote from: garbon on October 09, 2012, 07:36:45 AM
Why? One doesn't have to use Spanish.

Ok what exactly do you learn in school do you have to use?