Here Languish Stands game thread

Started by Solmyr, June 12, 2012, 02:15:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Habbaku

Quote from: Viking on June 22, 2012, 05:11:32 PM
Quote from: Solmyr on June 22, 2012, 04:54:38 PM
Quote from: Viking on June 22, 2012, 06:56:40 AM
Quote from: Solmyr on June 22, 2012, 06:46:21 AM
Hey, don't blame me for that one! It was supposed to be played by France and I had to agree to play it when I got a card draw. :P

Pirate Haven was my deal, though. Way too cheap, I might add. But then I warned that I'm a noob. :P

How was it cheap?

Because it gave you 8 cp worth of stuff without you having to lift a finger.

4 cp :contract: but the real value is that now taking Algiers is not enough to get rid of pirates.

Taking Algiers is never enough to get rid of pirates anyway.  You may always build corsairs in any Ottoman home port after Barbary Pirates has been played.
The medievals were only too right in taking nolo episcopari as the best reason a man could give to others for making him a bishop. Give me a king whose chief interest in life is stamps, railways, or race-horses; and who has the power to sack his Vizier (or whatever you care to call him) if he does not like the cut of his trousers.

Government is an abstract noun meaning the art and process of governing and it should be an offence to write it with a capital G or so as to refer to people.

-J. R. R. Tolkien

Habbaku

Quote from: Viking on June 22, 2012, 05:24:03 PM
It's not a fortress, it's a pirate haven counter.

:huh:  "It's not a regular, it's a 1 CU counter!"
The medievals were only too right in taking nolo episcopari as the best reason a man could give to others for making him a bishop. Give me a king whose chief interest in life is stamps, railways, or race-horses; and who has the power to sack his Vizier (or whatever you care to call him) if he does not like the cut of his trousers.