Unions: good for workers or bad for business?

Started by DontSayBanana, April 16, 2009, 11:12:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pro-union or anti-union?

For
29 (50.9%)
Against
28 (49.1%)

Total Members Voted: 57

Barrister

Quote from: Zanza2 on April 17, 2009, 10:45:08 AM
Quote from: Monoriu on April 17, 2009, 12:28:54 AMI am a non union member.  Can I work for General Motors, not join UAW, receive lower wages than union members, and survive?
I work in the German auto industry and I am not a member of IG Metall (the German UAW) and I am certainly not required to join them either (that would violate the freedom of occupation and association). However, the bargaining on work conditions (hours, salary, etc.) they make applies to me too unless I get promoted to a management position.

I have a 35 hour work week. :frog:

I am in the same position.  Under something called the Rand Formula I can choose to not become a union member - however the union will still negotiate my working conditions for me, and I still get to pay union dues.
Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

Josquius

██████
██████
██████

crazy canuck

Quote from: Tyr on April 17, 2009, 11:02:07 AM
Unions are linked to organised crime? :blink: :unsure:

I am going to assume that is a sarcasm.

Zanza

Quote from: Barrister on April 17, 2009, 10:56:27 AMand I still get to pay union dues.
I don't pay them a dime as I am not a member.

Barrister

Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

The Brain

Unions are bad as a concept. In practice they are horribly damaging and suck man ass like it's going out of style. They are organized crime, even if in Sweden they aren't in name. Since the fucking Reds made their protection racket legal.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

Zanza