Second Grader suspended for drawing Jesus on the cross for Xmas

Started by Syt, December 16, 2009, 04:42:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josephus

Quote from: Neil on December 16, 2009, 09:07:03 AM
Quote from: KRonn on December 16, 2009, 08:57:15 AM
This seems to have been very poor reporting so far.
All reporting is poor reporting.  The ineptitude of journalists is matched only by their dishonesty.

As an inept journalist, I concur.
Civis Romanus Sum<br /><br />"My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world." Jack Layton 1950-2011

The Brain

Women want me. Men want to be with me.

KRonn

Now the father claims that what he said was true, or at least some of it. Not a big deal, but it's local news. I'd think it shouldn't be hard to get the right story, if one of the vaunted newspapers or tv news asked a few questions.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,580282,00.html

Mass. Father Defends Claim That Boy, 8, Was Sent Home From School for Jesus Drawing

A Massachusetts father is standing by claims that his 8-year-old son was sent home from school after the boy drew a stick figure of Jesus on a crucifix.

Chester Johnson, 40, said his son did indeed draw the picture circulated to reporters and that Taunton School District officials later said was not the same drawing discovered by the second-grade student's teacher earlier this month.

"I swear to God, on my grave, you could kill me if I'm lying," Johnson, 40, told FoxNews.com. "I wouldn't make nothing up. This is the holiday season — I don't have time for that."

Johnson, who said he works for the Taunton School District as a part-time custodian, said his hours have been cut since the controversy made headlines locally and nationally.

"It's put a toll on me," Johnson said. "Now I'm trying to get a transfer."