Exact Number of Alternate Universes = 10^10^16 - How many zeros is that?

Started by MadImmortalMan, October 19, 2009, 05:14:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Brain

Quote from: Martim Silva on October 20, 2009, 02:50:56 PM
Quote from: Agelastus on October 19, 2009, 05:57:59 PM
It does sound a bit extreme when you put it that way.  :blink:

As a layman, I don't see how that is possible.

I also doubt it. As it was pointed out, for the theory to be true, every single change, even at a particle/photon level would lead to a new alternate universe, and so on...

Most people believe this nonsense because they only think about Human history, say: "Caesar not murdered in 44 b.C. - History changes" and accept it, but alternative universes would be far, far, far more than that, every change in anything would change everything, and this would happen during every microsecond for billions of years.

In other words, not even a hundred zillion trillion billion zeroes after the 1 would suffice to number them. Not even by a longshot.

You can certainly play around with the number of particles in the known universe and possible states and configurations etc. Then you end up with a number. The number will be big enough if you pile on the zeroes. What may be hard to grasp for a layman is how large large numbers are.

Consider: how many orders of magnitude do you need to describe the universe? Not that many.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

Neil

The really interesting changes are of the constants and forces anyways.  I am unconvinced by the concept of doppleganger universes.
I do not hate you, nor do I love you, but you are made out of atoms which I can use for something else.

grumbler

Quote from: MadImmortalMan on October 19, 2009, 05:14:42 PM
http://www.popsci.com/science/article/2009-10/physicists-calculate-exact-number-alternate-universes

Physicists Calculate Exact Number of Alternate Universes