News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Professional courtesy

Started by garbon, July 27, 2009, 04:00:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

garbon

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2009/07/27/BAE818UQMG.DTL

QuotePolice payback: Here's a story that gives "professional courtesy" a whole new meaning.

On May 18, San Francisco meter reader Necole Armstrong was working her beat in the Castro when she stopped to ticket a Nissan for parking at an expired meter.

According a letter Armstrong later sent to her superior, as she was writing up the $50 tag, a guy carrying a small child walked over and flipped up his shirt to reveal a badge on his belt.

"Hey, no!" the guy said as he approached. "I'm a police officer!"

Armstrong says the man added, "Be a professional. Give me a courtesy. I fed the meter. I was just picking up my child."

Armstrong didn't care much for the guy's attitude. Words were exchanged, with the end result being a ticket.

"I better not catch you driving without a license or making any illegal U-turns," the guy warned as he took the tag, according to Armstrong. "I will pull you over and deal with you."

A couple of hours later, as Armstrong was driving her cart down Castro Street, she was indeed pulled over by a squad car. Out stepped the guy, she says - Officer John Keesor - now in full uniform.

Keesor told her told her she was being cited for not wearing her seat belt.

"This is what a courtesy would look like," the officer supposedly said. "You're not getting one."

Armstrong is fighting the ticket and has filed a complaint with the Police Department, says her union rep, Dominic Garrett.

Keesor did not return calls for comment. His boss at Mission Station, Capt. Stephen Tacchini, said, "It's a personnel matter. It's under investigation, that's all I can say."

Internal affairs is doing the investigating.

After all, one courtesy deserves another.

:D