News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

2022 Midterm Election MEGATHREAD

Started by Admiral Yi, November 05, 2022, 07:29:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sheilbh

Quote from: alfred russel on November 09, 2022, 05:56:28 PMI'm not great at this stuff, I'm an accountant posting on the internet.

Say he is a loser. He picks loser candidates, he lost reelection. He was a loser as president because while Trump was giving press conferences with the most awful man in history (to a republican primary audience), Dr. Fauci, he was opening the state of florida. Trump was weak for not firing Dr. Fauci. A weak loser.
I totally agree. I think DeSantis is a real risk to Trump (and probably more of a risk than Trump).

But I always think about that Blair line about thinking for a long time before attacking his opponents to work out the line that most voters, who don't follow politics, will nod along to rather than tune out. I think for a fellow Republican that attack is that he's a loser.

His supporters believe that he won the election but in actual reality, he lost and he's no longer in the White House. I think reality beats his prince over the water stylings from Mar-a-Lago. He lost them elections in 2018, he lost the White House in 2020, his candidates lost 2020 - while (if I were DeSantis) DeSantis turned a purple state red.

But also, sadly, there's something to Tamas' line about DeSantis can do. Trump is an ex-president. He can post on Truth Social and he can hold rallies. DeSantis is a governor - he can push "don't say gay" laws, he can get into a fight with Disneyland, he can ship immigrants to Martha's Vineyard. He has power and he can get on the news and dominate news cycles in a way Trump used to be able to, but increasingly can't because he's just an ex-president.

Having said that I don't think DeSantis has much charisma and his speaking voice isn't great - but I think those can to some extent be fixed. I think he's in a better position than any other Republican.