And we're back!

Main Menu

Dream Jobs

Started by Savonarola, October 13, 2022, 04:09:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Savonarola

I saw this article in the BBC:

The workers leaving their dream jobs

I'm curious if anyone had a cool job that they left (or has a cool job); and if their experience was like the one in the article.  I'm also curious if anyone does have a "Dream job."

I haven't had a cool job (although radio engineer for the railroad has been a lot of fun, I don't think that quite counts a "Cool".)  I don't have a dream job; I have a lot of hobbies, but I wouldn't want to do any of them professionally.
In Italy, for thirty years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland, they had brotherly love, they had five hundred years of democracy and peace—and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock

Grey Fox

I worked in the game industry for a hot minute. I learned that working in that industry was not for me and in time would make me hate games.
Colonel Caliga is Awesome.

Barrister

Not really a stereotypical "dream job", but I really wanted to be a bigshot corporate lawyer.

I got a job at that kind of firm, realized that not only was the work incredibly long hours to start, but that you'd work incredibly long hours for the rest of your career.  And that just because a business deal might be worth nine-figures, it really wasn't sexy to be the lawyers papering the deal.

So now I work for the government.  Very fair salary but if I stayed with the big-firm corporate law (no guarantee there) I'd be making more, but I work much closer to 8-4 hours.
Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

Josquius

Quote from: Grey Fox on October 13, 2022, 04:13:10 PMI worked in the game industry for a hot minute. I learned that working in that industry was not for me and in time would make me hate games.