If you were in the same position as Ukrainians are now what would you do?

Started by Savonarola, March 14, 2022, 08:30:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

If you were in the same position as Ukrainians are now what would you do?

Stay and fight
27 (73%)
Stay but not fight
2 (5.4%)
Stay and collaborate
0 (0%)
Flee
8 (21.6%)

Total Members Voted: 37

Savonarola

I saw Question 8 on this poll from Quinnipiac University referenced in a couple editorial columns and I'm curious how Languish would respond.

With the caveat that you never really know what you'd do until you're actually there; I think (or at least I'd like to think) that I would stay and fight.  As a radio engineer I have skills that an insurgency would need; and I would feel guilty for the rest of my life if I didn't.
In Italy, for thirty years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder and bloodshed, but they produced Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci and the Renaissance. In Switzerland, they had brotherly love, they had five hundred years of democracy and peace—and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock

Grey Fox

I'd fight. I'm a really bad shot but I have electronics skills that can probably be useful.

I would get my kids to safety first, tho.
Colonel Caliga is Awesome.

The Brain

Stay and fight. An unprovoked Russian invasion was exactly what we prepared for in the army.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

Richard Hakluyt

I'm not sure. I'm 65 years old now and have an eye condition, I wouldn't last two minutes on the front line.

But maybe there is some worthwhile stuff to be done back in the city  :hmm:

Admiral Yi

The Man said 20-60 year olds stay and fight, so I'd stay and fight.

I've got no endurance so hopefully they'd push an AK into my hands and stick me in building and tell me when the Russians are coming.

crazy canuck

I would stay and fight and try to send Mrs CC to safety.  She would give me a withering look just before heading toward the shooting to see what she could do.