News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Canada Election 2021

Started by Josephus, August 15, 2021, 10:29:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

crazy canuck

Quote from: Zoupa on September 14, 2021, 06:09:06 AM
Well since cc went all semantic, Merriam-Webster defines discriminatory as making or showing an unfair or prejudicial distinction between different categories of people or things.

Calling something discriminatory implies that the treatment is unfair and/or prejudicial. I don't think Bill 21 is unfair, fairness is subjective. As for prejudice, I don't see it either but then again I'm not a lawyer. If people want a particular job, they can remove their cross/kippah/hijab/pasta strainer during work hours. Is that really prejudicial?

Is it prejudicial?  Yes, it is.  I urge you to read the decision of the Quebec Superior Court which sets out why that is.

The people suggesting that the law is not discriminatory are the ones engaging in semantics.  The position justifying the discriminatory effect of the law is a lot more credible.

Quote from: Grey Fox on September 14, 2021, 07:56:39 AM
Can a law creating a rule to stop people from doing something they can stop at any moment inherently discriminatory?

Yes, a Black person can stop wanting to ride in the front of the bus and a law requiring them to ride in the back is discriminatory.  As terrible as that is, the law in Quebec goes further.  People who wear a Turban (Sikhs) or a Hijab (Muslim women) cannot even get on the metaphorical bus.

Oexmelin

Let's not get carried away. The color of one's skin doesn't seem that comparable to a piece of clothing - and not all government jobs are concerned by Bill 21, but the authority-yielding ones - teachers, judges, commissioners.

Que le grand cric me croque !

crazy canuck

Quote from: Oexmelin on September 14, 2021, 11:05:49 AM