Could Augustus have had a canal built across the Suez? Should he have?

Started by jimmy olsen, May 02, 2021, 09:37:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Could Augustus have had a canal built across the Suez? Should he have?

He could have and he should have.
4 (25%)
He could have, but it wasn't worth the cost of doing so.
3 (18.8%)
It was worth doing, but simply not feasible.
6 (37.5%)
It was neither feasible, nor worth doing.
3 (18.8%)

Total Members Voted: 16

Monoriu

Quote from: Admiral Yi on May 03, 2021, 08:36:16 PM
In which grade, if ever, were you taught to think for yourself?

In Secondary four, or grade 10, there was an Economics and Public Affairs course.  I was particularly good at that one because it required us to state our position and argue for the pros and cons.  I was a very lazy student  :ph34r:  That course did not require so much studying.  But it should be noted that the majority of students took the "Economics" course instead.  Only the elite schools would pick Economics and Public Affairs. 

jimmy olsen

Quote from: Monoriu on May 03, 2021, 07:50:00 PM
10,000 workers for the Suez canal in Roman times seem no where near adequate to me.  The Sui dynasty used like five million peasants to build the Grand Canal.  Even if ancient sources exaggerated the real number by ten times, that's still half a million workers.

Hadrian's Wall was more than 3/4ths the length of this proposed canal and it was built by 15,000 legionaries in six years. A fortified wall seems a much more complex feat than digging a ditch. This canal doesn't require locks. You just need to move earth.

Professional construction workers, which the legions were as much as they were soldiers, are obviously vastly more capable and motivated than peasant conscripts.
It is far better for the truth to tear my flesh to pieces, then for my soul to wander through darkness in eternal damnation.

Jet: So what kind of woman is she? What's Julia like?