News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Most successful military projects

Started by Maladict, April 22, 2020, 09:44:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Minsky Moment

I'm far from an expert on fighter jets, but some of the MiG series (17? 21?) seem to have successful production history and reasonable costs, even if they tended to get shot down from time to time by Israeli pilots.
The purpose of studying economics is not to acquire a set of ready-made answers to economic questions, but to learn how to avoid being deceived by economists.
--Joan Robinson

Maladict

Iormlund

Quote from: Maladict on April 22, 2020, 09:44:46 AM
This might be more of a challenge. What military investments/programs paid off well beyond expectations? Again post WW2.

The B-52 was mentioned in the other thread, the A-10 might be another contender?

This one is a way in the future, but I'd nominate the autonomous car. While looking for ways to automate military logistics, the DARPA Challenge seems to have boosted the field significantly.

Razgovory

Quote from: Maladict on April 22, 2020, 02:52:59 PM
GPS

Good one.  The most successful military projects are ones that are not only useful to the military but become useful for civilian life.
I've given it serious thought. I must scorn the ways of my family, and seek a Japanese woman to yield me my progeny. He shall live in the lands of the east, and be well tutored in his sacred trust to weave the best traditions of Japan and the Sacred South together, until such time as he (or, indeed his house, which will periodically require infusion of both Southern and Japanese bloodlines of note) can deliver to the South it's independence, either in this world or in space.  -Lettow April of 2011

Raz is right. -MadImmortalMan March of 2017

11B4V

Quote from: The Brain on April 22, 2020, 12:27:29 PM
Quote from: Barrister on April 22, 2020, 12:26:17 PM