News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Good Friday off work?

Started by merithyn, March 24, 2016, 09:08:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Do you get a paid holiday for Good Friday?

US - Yes
US - No, but I work in retail/medical
US - No, and I don't work in retail/medical
ROTW - Yes
ROTW - No, but I work in retail/medical
ROTW - No, and I don't work in retail/medical

Liep

Also, most people in Denmark (except retail/medical) takes the entire week off getting a 10 day holiday.
"Af alle latterlige Ting forekommer det mig at være det allerlatterligste at have travlt" - Kierkegaard

"JamenajmenømahrmDÆ!DÆ! Æhvnårvaæhvadlelæh! Hvor er det crazy, det her, mand!" - Uffe Elbæk

MadBurgerMaker

Quote from: Valmy on March 24, 2016, 09:11:50 AM
State Holiday.

BUT you can work and get comp time which you can then use to take your other Easter day off.

Not at UTHSCSA.  It's just a regular work day. 

We do have the 22nd as one of those mission critical days next month though.

Savonarola

Quote from: Liep on March 24, 2016, 09:49:24 AM
Quote from: merithyn on March 24, 2016, 09:39:12 AM
Quote from: Liep on March 24, 2016, 09:21:24 AM
I get extra vacations days and Sunday pay for working on Maundy Thursday, Good Friday and 2nd Easter Day (Monday).

:huh:

"Maundy Thursday"?? "2nd Easter Day"??

What are those?? And what are the religious significance to those?

The Thursday is the day Jebus washed his disciples' feet, I don't know what Maudy means but we call it "Skærtorsdag" and it means Clean Thursday. And Easter Monday is him meeting his disciples.

In the United States we usually call "Maundy Thursday", "Holy Thursday."  In Britain "Holy Thursday" is the Feast of the Ascension (or at least it was in Blake's time.  That's what the poems "Holy Thursday"from Songs of Innocence and Songs of Experience refer to.)