News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Graphic editing software

Started by celedhring, February 04, 2016, 12:00:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

celedhring

I need to do some graphic editing for a presentation. I need something with more oomph to it than Paint, but not as sophisticated that Gimp or Photoshop - I feel like I need to be a rocket graphic scientist to use those.

viper37

I was going to suggest GIMP :P

Not my speciality, but looking through a page of Photoshop replacements, this could work for you:
http://pinta-project.com/releases
or
http://www.serif.com/free-photo-editing-software/

There is Paint Shop Pro available for around 100$ too, if it's still not as performing as you like.
I don't do meditation.  I drink alcohol to relax, like normal people.

If Microsoft Excel decided to stop working overnight, the world would practically end.

celedhring

Gimp is a fine program, but it's too complicated for me. I'm not a professional graphical editor, it's just that Paint is way too bare.

I've been recommended this: https://pixlr.com/

It has the exact mix of features/user level I was looking for, although I'm not too fond of web apps.

garbon

I would suggest paint.net. More sophisticate than paint but simpler than gimp and photoshop. Not web based.
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."

I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

celedhring

Quote from: garbon on February 04, 2016, 05:27:45 PM
I would suggest paint.net. More sophisticate than paint but simpler than gimp and photoshop. Not web based.

Thanks, I will try it out.

viper37

Quote from: celedhring on February 04, 2016, 04:58:07 PM
Gimp is a fine program, but it's too complicated for me. I'm not a professional graphical editor, it's just that Paint is way too bare.
same here, I can't find the time to learn a software I use once per 3 years.