Free yoga class cancelled - is guilty of "cultural appropriation"

Started by Barrister, November 23, 2015, 03:10:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Barrister

Quote from: Valmy on January 27, 2016, 01:08:12 PM
Oh wait...she was hired? I thought this was a volunteer instructor giving free classes? Maybe I misunderstood.

The article doesn't go into detail but it she new teacher uses the word "hired".

Quote"Nothing was brought to my attention to teach in a different way or do something differently than the other instructor because none of that was really mentioned to me," Priya Shah, the new teacher, told the CBC. "When I read [about it], I was kind of thinking 'Did they hire me because I'm Indian?. . . I was born in Calgary, I grew up in Canada but my background is Indian and I've been there once before. I was there for about five months."
Posts here are my own private opinions.  I do not speak for my employer.

grumbler

Quote from: Barrister on January 27, 2016, 01:11:31 PM
Oh wait...she was hired? I thought this was a volunteer instructor giving free classes? Maybe I misunderstood.

The article doesn't go into detail but it she new teacher uses the word "hired".
She could be using the word "hired" pretty loosely, but it wouldn't surprise me to find that the instructor gets paid by the Center, while the classes are free to the students.  If this was more like a club, with free membership and a volunteer instructor, I'm not sure the student government could shut it down without presenting just cause.  Ending something the university is paying for would look just like the case we saw.
The future is all around us, waiting, in moments of transition, to be born in moments of revelation. No one knows the shape of that future or where it will take us. We know only that it is always born in pain.   -G'Kar

Bayraktar!

Barrister

Quote from: grumbler on January 27, 2016, 01:19:42 PM
Quote from: Barrister on January 27, 2016, 01:11:31 PM