News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

The Off Topic Topic

Started by Korea, March 10, 2009, 06:24:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alfred russel

Reflecting back...a few other danger in Atlanta stories, from when I used to work as a manager of a restaurant (in brookhaven, which is a good part of town too)...

--Every night I had a routine when closing and locking up. I'd take a bag with all the money for the day, lock the storage shed behind the store, and then drive to the bank to deposit the money in the drop box. I closed 6 nights a week. On my day off, the stand in manager had someone else go lock the shed for him. There was a guy in the shed with a gun demanding the money. The guy locking the shed freaked out and ran away, and didn't get shot.

--One night after closing, a guy that was helping me clean up went to get gas. As he pulled up to the pump, the store was being robbed. The clerk was shot and killed, and my coworker was the only witness to the murder.

--There was a hotel manager that used refer us to guests. I knew him in passing—I'd give him free food and restock his menus to pass out from time to time. He had been robbed a few times and had enough. So he kept a gun at work. One day three guys tried to rob him, and a shootout ensued. He was shot in the head and killed. He also shot one of the robbers.

--Our restaurant did a lot of delivery. We had a customer that lived around the corner from the store that called extremely pissed off about his steak being cooked wrong. I apologized, and told him I'd bring him a new order. I knocked on door, and when he opened it, he had a gun pointed at me. He didn't shoot, so no harm no foul, I guess.