WTB Free Legal Advice! Languish (US) Lawyers to Me!

Started by Berkut, February 18, 2014, 07:49:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grey Fox

You need to set up a foundation that has only 1 purpose to give your sister money.
Colonel Caliga is Awesome.

DontSayBanana

Strong recommendation for getting an estate lawyer.  They deal with terminal patients, so they know how to wrangle medicaid/SSDI, and they can tell you whether your current financial setup is adequate or if you should roll it into a trust.
Experience bij!

ulmont

Quote from: Ideologue on February 18, 2014, 11:55:18 PM
It's been forever since I studied it, so someone with more experience should weigh in--and you really need to get a local attorney to look diligently into this even if someone on Languish is a VA attorney, which I don't think they are (Ulmont?).

No.  All the comments track with my tax class from a decade ago, but I never knew anything about Medicaid, I'm afraid.  I second (or third, or whatever) the recommendation that a local estate / benefits / tax attorney be consulted.

The Brain

I'm sorry. I hope things work out as well as they possibly can.

There's no gift tax in Sweden.
Women want me. Men want to be with me.

The Minsky Moment

Far outside my areas of knowledge, sorry.  Wouldn't want to risk steering you wrong.
The purpose of studying economics is not to acquire a set of ready-made answers to economic questions, but to learn how to avoid being deceived by economists.
--Joan Robinson

Malthus

Quote from: DontSayBanana on February 19, 2014, 08:42:30 AM
Strong recommendation for getting an estate lawyer.  They deal with terminal patients, so they know how to wrangle medicaid/SSDI, and they can tell you whether your current financial setup is adequate or if you should roll it into a trust.

This.

Unfortunately, this is a case where spending a little money will be necessary.