Main Menu

TV/Movies Megathread

Started by Eddie Teach, March 06, 2011, 09:29:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

garbon

Quote from: Oexmelin on October 30, 2018, 12:28:09 PM
Quote from: garbon on October 30, 2018, 11:36:24 AM
But none of that is different from when I was a student a decade ago. :hmm:

So when you have kids in college, you can tell them that, and thereby shape their expectations of college accordingly.

Hopefully that will never happen. ;)

Understood on the rest, though I'd say it has been a problem for quite sometime and perhaps as with many things facing millennials and younger, even worse conditions as time marches past.
"I've never been quite sure what the point of a eunuch is, if truth be told. It seems to me they're only men with the useful bits cut off."

I drank because I wanted to drown my sorrows, but now the damned things have learned to swim.

Oexmelin

Quote from: dps on October 30, 2018, 12:22:46 PM
Are you saying that many students no longer see going to college as an opportunity to party for 4 or so years?

Yep. And many who begin with this notion are soon disabused of it. College supervision is a lot tighter. Pressures of professionalization have been applied from high school. The costs have skyrocketed. They have a sense that the stakes are super high.
Que le grand cric me croque !

dps

Heck, I don't even remember there being any pressures of professionalism in high school.

Syt

John Goodman, Jeff Bridges, Steve Buscemi reminisce about The Big Lebowski:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KNzquU4hjpk

:wub:
I am, somehow, less interested in the weight and convolutions of Einstein's brain than in the near certainty that people of equal talent have lived and died in cotton fields and sweatshops.
—Stephen Jay Gould

Proud owner of 42 Zoupa Points.

Berkut

What I do know now, is that many students report disappointment in that their college experience was much more isolating than what their parents had led them to believe.