Coronavirus Sars-CoV-2/Covid-19 Megathread

Started by Syt, January 18, 2020, 09:36:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sheilbh

Interesting massive Italian serological study. Particularly relevant given conversations about IFR is how skewed this disease is based on age - so the implied IFR they estimate by age group is:
0-17:  0.002%
18-34:  0.02%
35-49:  0.11%
50-59:  0.40%
60-69:  1.74%
>70:     8.30%
:blink: Again it keeps striking just how lethal this disease is for the elderly. Obviously it's a particular risk in a country like Italy.

Interestingly no difference by profession (with the exception of healthcare workers) and no difference between locked down/furloughed/wfh and those who weren't. About a third were asymptomatic. Also striking (and I think this was part of the reason the UK advisors said they didn't include in the list of key symptoms) while 37% of people with covid reported loss of senses of taste/smell, only 25% of the people who had loss of sense of taste/smell tested positive.
Let's bomb Russia!

alfred russel

Quote from: merithyn on July 31, 2020, 08:55:57 PM
If you were thinking of sending your kids to school, you might want to rethink that.

WSB Atlanta: Hundreds of Georgia campers infected with coronavirus at YMCA camp in just days, CDC report finds.
https://www.wsbtv.com/news/local/hundreds-georgia-campers-infected-with-coronavirus-ymca-summer-camp-cdc-report-finds/EL5FFTVSDVETRGROPEXK6CIZNM/

Going back to school is the right choice. The mortality rates are so low, and the consequences of a year out of school so high. There are a lot of different studies that find a link between education and life expectancy. The link below from the National Bureau of Economic Research indicates a year of education adds on average 0.6 years to life expectancy. That is before you take into account socialization and other factors so important to childhood development that kids won't be getting if they stay home.