News:

And we're back!

Main Menu

Can't connect to my WiFi

Started by Josephus, December 08, 2016, 08:18:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josephus

Strange problem.

My WiFi works. I'm using it now from my Mac. It works with my phone.

But as of today my PC laptop (Windows 10) won't connect. It is connected but it says "no internet".
Network status says "no internet access" your device is connected but you ight not be able to access anything in the network."

I do a trouble shoot. It goes through resolving problems and then says  "Wi Fi" doesn't have a valid IP configuration

Like I said, it works on my other devices?

Note, I'm not a techie.

Civis Romanus Sum

"My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world." Jack Layton 1950-2011

Josephus

The simplest solution  I found on the net was to go to cmd prompt and type net sh winsock reset.

Is that a legitimate possible solution (ie.not opening myself up to bad shit?)
Civis Romanus Sum

"My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world." Jack Layton 1950-2011

Liep

turn it off and turn it on again?
"Af alle latterlige Ting forekommer det mig at være det allerlatterligste at have travlt" - Kierkegaard

"JamenajmenømahrmDÆ!DÆ! Æhvnårvaæhvadlelæh! Hvor er det crazy, det her, mand!" - Uffe Elbæk

Josephus

Quote from: Liep on December 09, 2016, 01:39:25 AM
turn it off and turn it on again?

Tried that. Did not work.

Did do the netsh winsock reset and that worked.
Civis Romanus Sum

Vricklund

Under normal circumstances you shouldn't have to reset winsock. It shouldn't get corrupted unless there's something corrupting it.  :P :rolleyes: :)