Archaeologists do it in holes: Tales from the stratigraphy

Started by Maladict, May 27, 2016, 02:34:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Minsky Moment

I'm not aware of any strong archaeological evidence of a conquest.  What there appears to be is a distinctive material culture and set of burial practices.  That has then been hypothetically lined to fragmentary writings about Sea Peoples.

It's possible there was a military conquest by new arrivals. It's also possible that these were refugees occupying temporary depopulated areas in a coastal are previously emptied by war, famine and crisis.  Or that they were colonies of mercenaries and auxiliaries settled by the Pharaoh in a strategic border/coastal area.   There are a number of possibilities of which Mediterranean Viking conquerer/settlers are only one.

The one possibility that appears now to be ruled out is that the change in material culture was due entirely to cultural transmission by trade, etc. without any physical movement of people. 
The purpose of studying economics is not to acquire a set of ready-made answers to economic questions, but to learn how to avoid being deceived by economists.
--Joan Robinson

Razgovory

Well it's not exactly a period of history with good records.  The best we have concerning this time period is from the Egyptians and their kings were prone to absurd boasting.  The Pharaoh claimed that Egypt was invaded outsiders around this time and he defeated them.  And then decided to just let them stay after words.  That seems suspect.